Skip to main content
Apply Now

Faculty and Staff

Below you will find a listing of faculty for the Communication Studies Program. If you are unsure of whom to contact with your questions, please call the main office at 509.359.2313.
  • Patricia Chantrill, PhD
    Patricia Chantrill, PhD
    Associate Professor of Communication
    COMM. Bldg. 205
    Phone: 509.359.4236
    Teaching Areas:
    • Rhetorical Theory and Criticism
    • Cultural Studies
    • Political Communication
    • Electoral Campaigns
    • Public Discourse and Public Relations
    Research Areas:

    Political Advocacy, Higher Education Policy and Planning, Board Governance (emphasis on public and not-for-profit organizations), Crisis Communication

  • Heather Robinson, MS
    Heather Robinson, MS
    Senior Lecturer
    Phone: 509.359.2883
  • Steve Stewart, MS
    Steve Stewart, MS
    Senior Lecturer
    Phone: 509.359.6377
  • Elizabeth Kissling, PhD
    Elizabeth Kissling, PhD
    Professor of Communication Studies, and Women's and Gender Studies
    207 Comm. Bldg., 207 Monroe Hall
    Phone: 509.359.2875 (Comm.), 509.359.2844 (Monroe)
    Fax: 509.359.2496
    Research Areas:
    • Feminist Cultural Studies including Media Representation of Women's Health and Sexuality
    • Instructional Technology
    • Free Speech Issues
    • Web Design
    • Igor Klyukanov, PhD
      Igor Klyukanov, PhD
      Professor of Communication
      209 Comm. Bldg.
      Phone: 509.359.2863
      Research Areas:
      • Intercultural Studies
      • Communication Theory
      • Semiotics
      • Linguistics
    • Gary Krug, PhD
      Gary Krug, PhD
      Professor of Communication and Chair of Communication Studies department
      COMM. Bldg. 109
      Phone: 509.359.2870
      Research Areas:
      • International Communication
      • Media Consequences and Effects
      • Popular Culture
      • Political Communication
    • Galina Sinekopova, PhD
      Galina Sinekopova, PhD
      Professor of Communication and Director of the MSC Graduate Program
      COMM Bldg. 112 and Riverpoint One, Suite 425
      Phone: 509.359.2865
      Research Areas:
      • Scholarship of Civic Engagement
      • Intercultural/International Communication
      • Political Communication
      • Language and Social Interaction
    • Vickie Shields, PhD
      Vickie Shields, PhD
      Professor of Communication and Dean of the College of Social & Behavioral Sciences and Social Work
      121 Senior Hall
      Phone: 509.359.6081
      Fax: 509.359.6732
    • Peter Shields, PhD
      Peter Shields, PhD
      Professor of Communication
      COMM. Bldg. 229C
      Phone: 509.359.4947
      Research Areas:
      • Communication Policy and Regulation
      • Political Economy of Information-Communication Technologies
      • Electronic Surveillance
      • Global Media
    • Jeffrey Stafford, PhD
      Jeffrey Stafford, PhD
      Professor of Communication
      117 Com Bldg, Cheney, WA 99004
      Phone: 509.359.7929
      Fax: 509.359.6732
      Research Areas:
      • Organizational Communication
      • Leadership Development
      • Project Management
      • Strategic Planning
      • Research Methodologies
    • Susan Stearns, PhD
      Susan Stearns, PhD
      Professor of Communication
      COMM. Bldg. 113
      Phone: 509.359.2864
      Research Areas:
      • Research Methods and Design
      • Instructional Communication
      • Academic Integrity
    • Phyllis Steele
      Phyllis Steele
      Department Senior Excutive Secretary
      108 Comm. Bldg.
      Phone: 509.359.2313
    © 2017 Eastern Washington University
    EWU expands opportunities for personal transformation through excellence in learning.