Skip to main content
Apply Now

EWU Professor Honored

Published: May 25, 2017

CHENEY, Wash. - Eastern Washington University's Nydia Martinez, PhD, along with professors from Central Washington University, The Evergreen State College, Western Washington University and Washington State University are the 2017 recipients of the Rep. Timm Ormsby Award for Faculty Citizenship. 

The award was created in 2013 and named for Rep. Timm Ormsby in recognition of his tireless effort to promote civic leadership across the state. Sponsored by the Washington Council of Faculty Representatives, this award seeks to encourage, recognize and honor exemplary civic engagement by faculty from each of Washington's six public baccalaureates.

Martinez is an assistant professor of History and Chicano Studies. Since arriving at EWU in 2015, she has worked with college students from migrant backgrounds in the federally-funded College Assistance Migrant Program. She has collaborated with high school teachers who work with Latina/o students and she has inspired Washington high school students in the Dare to Dream Academy through Washington State OSPI. Martinez was also the primary organizer of an October 2016 first-time voter registration project and the February 2017 Immigration Conference at EWU.

Martinez also conducts public presentations and workshops to build awareness on the needs of DACA/1079 students and undocumented communities. She has presented abroad on the historical and cultural circumstances of Washington's Mexican immigrant communities. She is also building a study abroad program which will take undergraduates to Mexico City in 2018 to participate in lectures with prominent Mexican scholars and guided cultural excursions. Martinez's research focuses on critical needs and issues facing Washington state residents, on community-based programs that facilitate democratic or electoral processes, and on complex relations established between Mexican nationals and people of Mexican ancestry in the United States.

Nominees for the faculty citizenship award are solicited by Faculty Governance Leadership at each institution and selected for exceptional achievement.

Nydia Martinez, PhD


Viewing Options

© 2018 Eastern Washington University
EWU expands opportunities for personal transformation through excellence in learning.