Native American Advisory Council (NAAC)


The Native American Advisory Council (NAAC) is made up of tribal representatives from tribal governments and Native American (American Indian/Alaska Native) organizations from around the Spokane region.


The Native American Advisory Council (“Council”) advises the EWU President and the university’s executive leadership team. Focusing on issues affecting Native American students on Eastern Washington University campuses as well as on outreach and retention strategies for Native students, faculty, and staff, the Council complements and supports the activities of the President and the Director of Tribal Relations.


Eastern Washington University is located within the traditional homelands of the Spokane people. Respecting this rich history, the Council is established to strengthen collaboration between the university and the Tribes and Native American communities in this region.


The Council represents regional Native American communities and works to address the culturally relevant needs of Native American students at Eastern Washington University and the EWU staff and faculty serving Native American students. The Council also promotes education, sovereignty, and self-determination of Native American communities.

To meet its objectives and goals, the Council will maintain on-going communication among Native American communities and will bring forward proposals for collaboration as well as recommendations regarding ways in which the campus climate and supports for Native students, faculty, and staff, can be improved.

The Council will meet with the President at least twice annually to review its findings and make recommendations on its charge. Each year, the Council will review its objectives and the progress of its activities.

To assist in promoting the mission, goals, and objectives of Eastern Washington University, the Council may affiliate itself with regional, state, or national education and or tribal education organizations or associations in order to network and exchange information.

Council Structure

Participating members will consist of individuals, appointed and re-appointed by the President, who share an interest in issues related to Native American students, staff, and faculty in higher education. External Council members shall be no more than 15, but no less than 10. Tribes currently represented on the Council are the Coeur D’Alene Tribe, Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation, Kalispel Tribe, and Spokane Tribe.

Eastern Washington University administrators and faculty will serve as resources to the Council.


The Council will meet at least once during the spring and fall quarters and more often as necessary. Agenda items will be requested at the close of each meeting and again two weeks before the next meeting. Recommendations will be by consensus of the Council. While in-person attendance is preferred, the university recognizes that sometimes the use of video/teleconference options may be needed and will try to accommodate these requests with prior notice.

Task Forces or Committees

The Council may create task forces or working committees to develop more in-depth information or proposals for the Council’s review and comment. These task forces or committees will report back to the Council and may not take action independent of the Council’s advisory role.

Rules of Order

Members who miss more than two consecutive meetings unexcused will be dropped from the Council. To excuse an absence, notify Erin Ross, the Director of Tribal Relations, prior to a meeting.

Rules of order may be amended by the Council as deemed necessary.

Current Members

  • Norma Peone (Co-Chair)– Coeur d’Alene Tribe
  • Chris Meyer (Co-Chair) – Coeur d’Alene Tribe
  • Anna Armstrong – Kalispel Tribe
  • Joel Boyd – Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation
  • Dave Browneagle – Spokane Tribe
  • Anna Eaglebear – Spokane Public Schools
  • Carol Evans – Spokane Tribe
  • Bonnie St. Goddard – Spokane Public Schools
  • Levi Horn – Spokane Public Schools
  • Toni Lodge – Native Project
  • Emma Noyes – Empire Health Foundation
  • Tiger Peone – Spokane Tribe
  • Monica Simeon – Sister Sky, Inc.
  • Marina Turning Robe – Sister Sky, Inc.

Meeting Agendas

DateLocationTimeAgenda PDF
Thursday, August 27, 2020Hargreaves Hall 22310 a.m. to 1 p.m.TBA
Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2019Hargreaves Hall 223Noon to 3 p.m.Agenda
Wednesday, May 8, 2019Hargreaves Hall 22310 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.Agenda