Reorganization Takes Shape

EWU’s provost announces a new look for Eastern academics.

Just over a year ago, senior university administrators and the Board of Trustees approved a blueprint for reducing the number of EWU colleges from seven to four as part of a cost-saving reorganization of colleges and academic departments at the university.

In January, Brian Levin-Stankevich, provost and vice president for academic affairs, announced the names of the four new colleges and the leadership of each of the newly reorganized units.

They are:

  • The College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, which will continue to be led by David Bowman, a professor of geology.
  • The College of Professional Studies will be led by Jonathan Anderson, a professor of psychology who is currently dean of social sciences and the acting dean of the College of Business.
  • The College of Health Science and Public Health, which will continue under the leadership Donna Mann, an associate professor and interim dean, who is continuing her interim appointment.
  • The College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences will include programs from the current College of Arts, Letters and Education, College of Social Sciences and the University College. As of press time, the university had yet to name a dean for the college.

In a statement, Provost Levin-Stankevich said discussions related to the status of academic programs and departments within the new college structure are ongoing.

“I want to thank all of our deans, associate deans, their offices and department chairs for the dedication to fulfilling their responsibilities, both ongoing and interim, during this transitional period,” Levin-Stankevich says. “These are all challenging roles within the university.”