Visiting Writers Series

About the Series

Every year the MFA program invites several prestigious writers to campus, where they lead workshops of student work and give readings to the broader community. Recent guests include Robert Lopez, Sarah Shun-Lien Bynum, Dana Johnson, Bonnie Nadzam, Paul Harding, Lily Hoang, Krys Lee, William Finnegan, Albert Goldbarth, Thomas Lynch, Peter Everwine, Patricia Hampl, Linda Bierds, Thomas Lux, Alison Baker, James Tate, Dorianne Laux, Yusek Komunyakaa, Phillip Lopate, Lan Samantha Chang, Marilynne Robinson, Stuart Dybek, Jane Smiley, and many more.

EWU’s Visiting Writers Series is promoted by Get Lit! Programs.

Please contact us at or 509.828.1434 for more information on visiting writers and all general program questions.

2019-20 Visiting Writers

Christopher Boucher

Christopher BoucherChristopher Boucher is the author of the novels How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive (2011), Golden Delicious (2016) and Big Giant Floating Head (2019), all out from Melville House. He’s also the editor of Jonathan Lethem’s nonfiction collection More Alive and Less Lonely (Melville House, 2017) and the Managing Editor of the literary journal Post Road.

Chris lives in western Massachusetts and teaches writing and literature at Boston College. In his free time, he plays the five-string banjo.

Nov. 15, 2019, 7:30 p.m. at Spark Central

Christopher Dombrowski

Christopher Dombrowski is the author of three books of poems, most recently Ragged Anthem (Wayne State University Press, 2019). His nonfiction debut Body of Water (Milkweed Editions) made numerous “Best Books” lists and was named a Bloomberg News Book of the Year in 2016. His essays and poems have appeared in Orion, Outside, Poetry, Poetry Northwest, The Southern Review, The Sun, and many others.

For the better part of two decades, Chris has taught creative writing to a vast array of age groups, most recently as the William Kittredge Visiting Writer in Residence at the University of Montana. In addition, he has worked as a fly-fishing guide in Missoula, Montana, where he directs the Beargrass Writing Retreat and makes his home with his loveably feral family.

Jan.17, 2020, 7:30 p.m. at Spark Central

Dinah Lenney

Dinah Lenney wrote The Object Parade (Counterpoint Press) and Bigger Than Life: A Murder, a Memoir (University of Nebraska Press), and co-edited Brief Encounters: A Collection of Contemporary Nonfiction with the late Judith Kitchen (W.W. Norton). Other work has appeared in a variety of publications including The New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, AGNI, Creative Nonfiction, the Paris Review Daily, and the Los Angeles Review of Books (aka LARB), where she serves as an editor-at-large. She’s a member of the core faculty of the Bennington Writing Seminars, and her new book, Coffeewill be published by Bloomsbury in April 2020.

Jan. 31, 2020 at Spark Central

Danielle Dutton

Danielle Dutton is the author of the books Attempts at a LifeSPRAWL (a finalist for the 2011 Believer Book Award), and Margaret the First, named one of the best books of the year by The Wall Street JournalVoxLit HubSt. Louis Magazine, etc., and winner of a 2016 Independent Publishers Book Awards gold medal in historical fiction. She also wrote the texts for Richard Kraft’s collaborative collage project Here Comes Kitty: A Comic Opera. Her writing has appeared in Harper’sBOMBFenceNoonThe Paris ReviewThe White Review, etc. Dutton is co-founder and editor of the feminist press Dorothy, a publishing project. The press is named for her great aunt, a librarian who drove a bookmobile through the backroads of Southern California, delivering books to rural desert communities. Born and raised in California, Dutton now lives in Missouri with her husband and son. She has taught courses in the Jack Kerouac School of Disembodied Poetics at Naropa University, at The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and in Ithaca College’s Image Text MFA. She is an associate professor at Washington University in St. Louis.

Feb. 28, 2020 at Spark Central

Ashley Capps

Mar. 13, 2020 at Spark Central

Alex Espinoza

Alex EspinozaAlex Espinoza earned his MFA in Fiction from UC Irvine. He’s the author of the novels Still Water Saints and The Five Acts of Diego León, both from Random House. His newest book is Cruising: An Intimate History of a Radical Pastime (Unnamed Press, June 2019). He has written for the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times Magazine, Virginia Quarterly Review, LitHub, and NPR’s All Things Considered. The recipient of fellowships from the NEA and the MacDowell Colony as well as an American Book Award from the Before Columbus Foundation, he lives in Los Angeles and is the Tomás Rivera Endowed Chair of Creative Writing at UC-Riverside.

Apr. 16-17, 2020

Phillip Lopate

May 8, 2020 at Spark Central

Presented By:

The MFA at EWU

The MFA at EWU

Program Information

Get Lit! Programs

Get Lit! Programs

Get Lit! Website

Previous Visiting Writers

  • Steve Almond
  • Bonnie Nadzam
  • Mary Norris
  • Dennis Nurkse
  • Suzanne Matson
  • Ira Sukrungruang

  • Judy Blunt
  • Darin Strauss
  • Jesse Graves
  • Krys Lee
  • Emily Van Kley
  • Dan Chaon
  • Nance Van Winckel
  • Laura Kasischke

  • Alexis M. Smith
  • Kristin Dombek
  • Heather McHugh
  • Joe Wilkins
  • Sarah Shun-lien Bynum
  • Liz Kay
  • John Rybicki

  • Linda Bierds
  • S.M. Hulse
  • Bethany Schultz Hurst
  • Lily Hoang
  • Lidia Yuknavitch
  • Paul Harding
  • Nance Van Winckel
  • William Finnegan
  • Elizabeth Spires

  • Joseph Salvatore
  • Andrea Scarpino
  • William Wright
  • Emily Rapp
  • Elizabeth Graver
  • Walter Kirn
  • Michele Glazer
  • Mary Szybist