Contact Information

Contact Us

For general questions about the MFA in Creative Writing at EWU, please contact:

Lisa Denker
Catalyst Building 438
601 East Riverside Avenue, Spokane, WA  99202
P: 509.828.1317

For general questions about the undergraduate degree in English with an emphasis in Creative Writing, please contact:

Department of English and Philosophy

Lisa Denker: Secretary Senior

Terry MacMullan, PhD: Department Chair

Get in Touch

Gregory Spatz

Professor, Program Director
Photo of Gregory Spatz
Catalyst Room #443

Lisa Denker

Senior Secretary
EWU Creative Writing, Public Administration, and Urban and Regional Planning
Photo of Lisa Denker
Catalyst Room #438

Polly Buckingham

Senior Lecturer
Photo of Polly Buckingham
Patterson Hall 203

Jonathan Johnson

Photo of Jonathan Johnson
Catalyst Room #444

Natalie Kusz

Associate Professor
Photo of Natalie Kusz
Catalyst Room #435

Samuel Ligon

Photo of Samuel Ligon
Catalyst Room #437

Rachel Toor

Photo of Rachel Toor
Catalyst Room #436

Emeritus Faculty

Photo of Christopher Howell

Christopher Howell

Professor Emeritus
Photo of Christopher Howell

Christopher Howell’s Light’s Ladder won the Washington State Book Award in 2005. His poems, essays, and translations have also appeared in a number of anthologies and journals, including Antioch ReviewColorado ReviewCrazy HorseDenver QuarterlyFieldGettysburg ReviewHarper’sHudson ReviewIowa ReviewNorthwest ReviewPoetry NorthwestSouthern Review and Volt. He has been the recipient of three Pushcart Prizes and two National Endowment fellowships, as well as a number of other awards.