CAHSS Excellence Awards 2022

CAHSS Excellence Awards

Taking the time to reflect on our accomplishments and achievements is one of the most important highlights of the year and is an opportunity to formally set aside some time to recognize and celebrate our aspirations and accomplishments as educators and students. All of the students and faculty are very unique in their own way and truly represent the diversity amongst our multi-faceted disciplines within the programs, departments, college, and university.

They all have a passion for what they do, and their dedication to their field is not limited to the classroom but extends throughout the university and our local communities.  Our college is very proud of these students and faculty and their accomplishments, and we are thankful and appreciative of the selfless support that many have received from their family and friends.


Jeffers Chertok Memorial Scholarship

The Jeffers W. Chertok Memorial Scholarship was established in 2005 by Daniel & Margie Carper and the Chertok Family. Dean Jeffers Chertok held a 34-year career at Eastern Washington University. Dean Chertok’s legacy lives on through the students he taught, the faculty he mentored, and the quiet charm he brought to them all. He will always be remembered as a strong voice for Eastern, a statesman, and a scholar of quiet brilliance, beloved by students and admired by colleagues.

Megan Enders

Photo of Megan Enders

Kimberlee Tallman

Social Studies
Photo of Kimberlee Tallman

Veronnica L. Hawkins

Political Science
Photo of Veronnica L. Hawkins

Richard Murphy

Political Science - International Affairs
Photo of Richard Murphy

Frances B. Huston Medallion Awards

Recipients of this award have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement with a minimum 3.75 GPA in their previous four quarters and have qualified for the award in one or more of the following areas: leadership, service to the university, and/or service to the community. Faculty Mentors are selected by the student award recipients and are celebrated for their excellence in teaching and mentorship.

Christina Monique Hudson

Africana Studies & English Studies
Photo of Christina Monique Hudson
Faculty Mentors: Okera Nsombi & Garry Kenney

Aminata Njadoe

Communication Studies
Photo of Aminata Njadoe
Faculty Mentor: Peter Shields

Isabella Josefina Marie Robertson

Communication Studies
Photo of Isabella Josefina Marie Robertson
Faculty Mentor: Jessica Boyer

Calvin S. Eldred

Photo of Calvin S. Eldred
Faculty Mentor: Garry Kenney

Michelle Blue

Photo of Michelle Blue
Faculty Mentor: Drew Ayers

Allison Morgan Fox

Photo of Allison Morgan Fox
Faculty Mentor: Miguel Novella

Thomas Matthew Luce

Social Studies Education
Photo of Thomas Matthew Luce
Faculty Mentor: Jacki Tyler

Jeffers W. Chertok Dean’s Excellence Awards and Faculty Mentors

The Jeffers W. Chertok Dean’s Honor Student Award is named in remembrance of Dean Jeffers Chertok. we recognize and honor students and their chosen influential faculty from Departments and Programs within the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences who have distinguished academic records as well as accomplishments in service, leadership, and scholarship. Faculty Mentors are selected by the student award recipients and are celebrated for their excellence in teaching and mentorship.

Maisyn (Macie) Arnold

Communication Studies
Photo of Maisyn (Macie) Arnold
Faculty Mentor: Sue Stearns

Anna Belle Peterson

Communication Studies
Photo of Anna Belle Peterson
Faculty Mentor: Jessica Boyer

Christina Monique Hudson

English Studies
Photo of Christina Monique Hudson
Faculty Mentor: Chris Valeo

Summer Sandstrom

Photo of Summer Sandstrom
Faculty Mentor: Terry MacMullan

Seth Collier

Photo of Seth Collier
Faculty Mentor: Chris Tyllia

Christian Louise Skok

Photo of Christian Louise Skok
Faculty Mentor: Jody Graves

Corinne Foster

Social Studies Education
Photo of Corinne Foster
Faculty Mentor: Jacki Tyler

Jewell Greedy

Photo of Jewell Greedy
Faculty Mentor: Bill Youngs

Alexia Howard-Mullins

Political Science
Photo of Alexia Howard-Mullins
Faculty Mentor: Jim Headley

Irene Rutikanga

Urban & Regional Planning
Photo of Irene Rutikanga
Faculty Mentor: Margo Hill

Emeritus Status Award

Marge Andrews

Professor Emerita
Photo of Marge Andrews

Kerry Brooks

Professor Emeritus
Urban and Regional Planning
Photo of Kerry Brooks

Jodi Patterson

Professor Emerita
Visual Art Education
Photo of Jodi Patterson

Jeff Stafford

Professor Emeritus
Communication Studies
Photo of Jeff Stafford


Thank you for all you have done for Eastern over the years!

Roy Sonnema

Art History
Photo of Roy Sonnema